Firearms Crimes in Rhode Island
Rhode Island's statutes governing the possession use of firearms is called the "Firearms Act" and can be found in the Rhode Island General Laws Chapter 11, Section 47.
Rhode Island one may own a firearm without a license or special permit and carry such firearms to and from the home or place of business to a bona fide target range. However, Rhode Island has strict laws surrounding the carrying and use of firearms. Call right away if you’ve been arrested and charged with a firearms violation in Rhode Island.
Firearms Penalties in Rhode Island
- CARRYING FIREARMS WHEN COMMITTING CRIME OF VIOLENCE
2. SECOND CONVICTION: Prison 10 to 20 years
3. THIRD CONVICTION: Prison 15 years to life
4. For the penalties provided in this section the convicted shall not be afforded the provisions of suspension or deferment of sentence, nor of probation
- CARRYING A STOLEN FIREARM WHEN COMMITTING A CRIME OF VIOLENCE
2. SECOND CONVICTION: Prison 15 to 20 years
3. THIRD CONVICTION: Prison 20 years to life
4. The sentence imposed shall be consecutive to the underlying sentence for the crime of violence.
- USING A FIREARM WHEN COMMITTING A CRIME OF VIOLENCE
2. SECOND CONVICTION: Prison: 20 years; life with machine gun
3. THIRD CONVICTION: Prison: life
4. For a third conviction, one can be sentenced to life without parole after the judge considers aggravating circumstances.
- DISCHARGING A FIREARM WHEN COMMITTING A CRIME OF VIOLENCE
2. PRISON: 20 years if a person other than a police officer is injured or if a police officer while engaged in the performance of his duties is endangered by the discharge
3. PRISON: Life if a police officers who is engaged in the performance of his duties is injured by the discharge, or if the death or permanent incapacity of any person results from the discharge
More information on Rhode Island Firearms Crimes